My little man is here!

My guys!

My guys!

Our son is here!  He was 2 weeks early but made it here safely and is doing great.  He was 6pounds 10ounces and 19 inches long.  Below is the story detailing his arrival! 

On Sunday, Tater and I decided to grill up the dove he had hunted on Friday and Saturday.  Tater wraps them up in bacon with jalepeno and cheese and glazes them with a sweet sauce.  They always turn out fantastic….but I would recommend NOT eating these on the day you go into labor.  So if you can plan it, I wouldn’t make this the last meal before you go to the hospital!!  Anyways, everyone left and we made it to bed around 10pm.  At 11:40pm, I woke up and thought I had felt a contraction.  I decided to wake up Tater even though I had only had one.  Ten minutes went by and I had another one….so we were starting to get excited.  They were uncomfortable but not painful.  I got up to go to the bathroom after the second contraction and as I walked into the bathroom, I felt a rush of water down my legs.  I looked at Tater and said we may be in a little bit more hurry than I had once thought! 

Tater packed up the truck and we headed off to the hospital.  On the way to the hospital, my contractions started to get closer together and were 3minutes apart when we arrived at the hospital around 12:40am.  We checked in at labor and delivery and the nurse confirmed that my water had broke and I was 2cm dilated.  They had me hooked up to monitors to check the baby’s heart rate and my contractions.  The monitor was a little stressful to watch, because you could tell when each contraction was about to start.  The contractions were starting to get more uncomfortable.  Not yet painful but definitely uncomfortable. 

We got moved to our room, room 1234, around 2:30am.  They got me setup on the monitors and asked what I would like to do about pain management.  My plan was to do IV drugs as long as I could and only do the epidural if I really needed it.  By this time, my contractions were really starting to become painful.  It was really hard to relax and I remember my whole body stiffening up during each contraction.  At one point, Tater told me that I needed to stop holding my breath and take deep breaths….and I thought that sounds like a great idea but these damn things hurt!!  I could’nt wait to get the IV in and start getting some drugs!!  But, it took 4 nurses, 5needle pokes and a couple different needle sizes to finally get the IV in my hand.  Apparently I have very tiny veins and no one could find a vein!  At this point, I told them to screw the IV drugs, I wanted the epidural!  But they had to still put in the IV to get me fluids and some antibiotics.  So I got the IV drugs but they really didn’t help with the pain.  I had a washcloth over my eyes and could barely open my eyes…..everything hurt.  At about 4:30am, I finally got an epidural and let me tell you….that is the most amazing thing I have ever had.  The pain was gone.  I could still feel the contractions but they weren’t painful at all.  Nick laughed because I instantly perked up and started making phone calls and joking around.  I felt like a new woman! 

The epidural was in and I was feeling good but my blood pressure was starting to drop.  The nurses decided to check and see if I was making any progress.  Our first nurse checked and then asked a second nurse to check before she told us how far along I was.  She wanted to make sure before she told me that I was 9cm dilated!!!  Everyone couldn’t believe how fast I was progressing.   They decided to call my doctor (my doctor was on call!) and tell him that I was getting close.  However, they wanted me to not push until 8am as they needed to give me some more medicine but weren’t able to give it to me until 7:30am.  I probably would of been able to start pushing around 5 or 6am but I was able to hold off until 7:30am.  I started pushing at 7:30am and had our little boy at 8:32am. 

My favorite part of this whole experience was when my doctor pulled him out and set him on my stomach and asked if we had a name.   We said his name is Henry but we are nicknaming him Hank.  He said well then and counted off to 3 and starting singing Happy Birthday to our son.  The doctors, the nurses, Tater and I sang Happy Birthday to our new baby boy.  It was one of the most amazing moments in my life. 

Our hospital stay was amazing and we had the best nurses and the best doctor.  I couldn’t ask for a better experience.  We stayed in the hospital for 2 nights and came home early yesterday.  I can’t stop staring at Hank and I can’t believe how much I love him.  Tater is the most amazing father and I am so excited to be able to go through this with him.   

Hank's classy going home outfit!

Classy Hank

Just hanging out!

Just hanging out!

 

The two of us (Tater was not home but he looked so cute, I had to get the picture)!

The two of us (Tater was not home but he looked so cute, I had to get the picture)! Excuse the mess...we aren't organized yet!

8 Comments

Filed under The Tot

8 responses to “My little man is here!

  1. oh Alison, he’s percious!!!! and look at those long arms and legs!! 🙂 Can’t wait to meet him!

  2. I can’t believe you guys are parents, but I love it and I love baby Hankk more than he knows. He is sooooo handsome!!!!!! Welcome to parenthood, you guys are gonna be awesome and Hank is so lucky to have both you beside him for life:)

  3. monee2000

    Awww… yay! That hunting trip was a little too close! LOL! At least you had a good breakfast on Saturday!

    He’s precious – I can’t wait to come see him. He is going to experience his first hurricane EARLY! Welcome to Houston little man :o)

  4. Tracey

    The picture of Hank and Tater is adorable. Y’all are going to be wonderful parents…congrats to both of you!

  5. Maureen

    he’s beautiful so why am I crying????!!!! LOL! What a surprise to hear that he’s already here! Congratualtions!

  6. V

    I love the pictures! He’s adorable and I’m glad all three of you are doing well.

  7. Heather

    I just can’t wait to hold the little peapie myself! He is absolutely beautiful, and I know you two are going to be the best parents!

    Stay safe in the crazy hurricane… Ike is breaking Hank in early! lol

  8. addiebaby

    Damn Ike! I cannot wait to meet sweet Hank. I love his tux, it’s making me want to get Addie a prom dress. You guys are so fancy!

Leave a Reply

